Stories from the Faerie Queen

Read by Bill Boerst

(4.8 stars; 18 reviews)

A major work by Spenser, The Faerie Queen, was published between 1590 and 1596. As an allegorical work, it can be read on many levels. According to Jeanie Lang, Spenser always looked for the beautiful and the good when he wrote. Lang said, "There are many stories in The Faerie Queen, and out of these all I have told you only eight." The eight are "Una and the Lion," "St. Gergoe and the Dragon," "Britomart and the Magic Mirror," "The Quest of Sir Gregory," "Pastorella," "Cambell and Triamond," "Marinell the Sea-Nymph's Son," and "Flormell and the Witch." - Summary by Bill Boerst (1 hr 58 min)


Chapter 1 - Una and the Lion 14:29 Read by Bill Boerst
Chapter 2 - St. George and the Dragon 17:46 Read by Bill Boerst
Chapter 3 - Britomart and the Magic Mirror 13:34 Read by Bill Boerst
Chapter 4 - The Quest of Sir Guyon 15:46 Read by Bill Boerst
Chapter 5 - Pastorella 19:27 Read by Bill Boerst
Chapter 6 - Cambell and Triamond 10:07 Read by Bill Boerst
Chapter 7 - Marinell, the Sea-Nymph's Son 12:36 Read by Bill Boerst
Chapter 8 - Florimell and the Witch 15:14 Read by Bill Boerst


Beautiful and Accessible!

(5 stars)

My 5 year old loves these stories. We have listened to them three times now. They have been a great way for him to start asking questions about chivalry, trust, betrayal, and faithfulness. I highly recommend it for long-car rides. These tales spark the imagination and give much more history to Una and St. George than the typical children's tale. The narrator has a quiet gentle voice. My 3 year old finds him very relaxing and often falls asleep while listening.

Lovely old stories

(5 stars)

Thank you so much for your reading of this book. Very nice job.