Skip to main content.

The House of Dust: A Symphony

Gelesen von Expatriate

(5 Sterne; 1 Bewertungen)

The House of Dust is a poem written in the four-movement format of a classical symphony. Hauntingly beautiful despite its bleak post-World War I depictions of human mortality and loss, the poem develops its movements around central images such as Japanese ukiyo-e ("floating world") woodblock prints, touching the reader's senses with endlessly evocative allusions to wind, sea, and weather. In this underlying Japanese sensibility and dependence on central perceptual images, Aiken's poem is similar to poetry of Imagists of the time such as Amy Lowell. Also deeply influenced by the concepts of modern psychology, Aiken delved deeply into individual human identity and emotion. - Summary by Expatriate (2 hr 21 min)


Part 01


Read by Expatriate

Part 02


Read by Expatriate

Part 03


Read by Expatriate

Part 04


Read by Expatriate