The House of Dust: A Symphony

Read by Expatriate

(5 stars; 1 reviews)

The House of Dust is a poem written in the four-movement format of a classical symphony. Hauntingly beautiful despite its bleak post-World War I depictions of human mortality and loss, the poem develops its movements around central images such as Japanese ukiyo-e ("floating world") woodblock prints, touching the reader's senses with endlessly evocative allusions to wind, sea, and weather. In this underlying Japanese sensibility and dependence on central perceptual images, Aiken's poem is similar to poetry of Imagists of the time such as Amy Lowell. Also deeply influenced by the concepts of modern psychology, Aiken delved deeply into individual human identity and emotion. - Summary by Expatriate (2 hr 21 min)


Part 01 21:19 Read by Expatriate
Part 02 28:34 Read by Expatriate
Part 03 54:27 Read by Expatriate
Part 04 37:10 Read by Expatriate